In 2017, CALE/ACEJ established two new awards.

The first is the CALE/ACEJ Best Paper Award for an outstanding paper written by an emerging scholar in the field of legal ethics.

The second is the CALE/ACEJ Lifetime Achievement Award, to be awarded to someone who has demonstrated “sustained accomplishments in the field of legal ethics and professionalism”.

The full terms of the Awards can be found here CALE/ACEJ Award Terms

A call for nominations for both awards is typically posted on this website and the CALE listserv in spring/summer of each year.


CALE/ACEJ Best Paper Award
2022 Daniel Del Gobbo
2020 Deanne Sowter
2019 Jennifer Leitch
2017 Noel Semple

CALE/ACEJ Lifetime Achievement Award
2021 Alice Woolley
2020 Richard Devlin

2019 Allan Hutchinson
2017 Darrel Pink
2017 Stephen Goudge