Annual Conference

The 2019 CALE annual conference will be hosted by the University of Windsor. It will follow its traditional schedule, starting on the evening of Thursday, October 24 and ending mid-day on Saturday, October 26, 2019. Professor Jasminka Kalajdzic is the Conference Co-ordinator. The CALE annual meeting of members will be held at the conference.

Below are the calls for expressions of interest for the Research, Teaching and Regulation streams. If you are unclear as to whether your topic fits best the Research, Regulation, or Teaching stream of the CALE Conference, please feel free to email any of the organizers noted below and they can ensure that your content is considered for the most appropriate stream.

Research

Stephen Pitel and Pooja Parmar invite anyone interested in presenting on research topic to contact them.  They welcome proposals from junior scholars and from those working on legal ethics outside the academy.  The eventual format of the presentations will depend on, among other things, the number of proposals we accept, but we expect that each presenter would have about 15-20 minutes plus time for questions.  There is no need to have a formal paper accompanying your presentation: slides or oral remarks alone are fine.  You need not have a finished product: work in progress is welcome.

Please respond to Pooja (parmar@uvic.ca) and Stephen (spitel@uwo.ca) with expressions of interest on or before May 15, 2019.

Teaching

Richard Devlin and Andrew Martin are collecting expressions of interest for the sessions on legal ethics and professionalism teaching. They welcome all participants with something to share, especially adjuncts and part-time faculty. As with the research sessions, a paper is not required and works in progress are welcome

If interested, please contact Richard (Richard.Devlin@dal.ca) and Andrew (martin@allard.ubc.ca) by May 15, 2019.

Regulation

Amy Salyzyn and Basil Alexander and are gathering expressions of interest for the regulatory stream. They welcome expressions of interest from those working as regulators as well as practitioners and academics for presentations on topics related to the regulation of the legal profession.

Please email Basil (basil.s.alexander@gmail.com) and Amy (amy.salyzyn@uottawa.ca) with your expressions of interest for presenting in the Regulation stream on or before May 15, 2019.